9/23/20 G Suite Roundup: Updates That Matter Most

Team members working with technology

Share This Post

New updates to G Suite impact the security measures and customizability of apps for admins and end users alike. Read on to learn the details.

New API for signing out users

Two new strong security measures have been added to the Admin console. Admins can now automatically sign out a user from all currently signed-in devices. This can be helpful when a user leaves the organization, if a device is lost or misplaced, or if a user forgot to sign out of a shared device. You can find instructions to use this API here.

Drive Trash Deletion Update

Beginning October 13th, 2020, Drive files placed in the Trash will be deleted after 30 days. This is done in an effort to reduce storage space usage, as well as to unify the experience on G Suite applications; Gmail data, for example, is also deleted 30 days after it has been moved to the Trash.

This change applies to all versions of G Suite, including personal (non-business) accounts.

Meet Updates

Two new updates to Meet were made. These will make Meet a more robust and powerful video conferencing platform, especially for meetings with large numbers of participants.

Blur your background: Google Meet can now intelligently detect and blur your background. This can be helpful when your background is busy or distracting, and will help keep meeting participants’ focus on you.

To blur your background in a meeting, follow these simple steps:

  1. At the bottom right, click More (3 vertical dots)

  2. Click Turn on background blur

View up to 49 participants: Now, you can view up to 49 participants (including yourself) at the same time by using Google’s new 7×7 tile grid view. Action is required if you would like to see this many participants at once, as the default layout is 9 to 16 participants depending on your settings.

To enable this participant view while in a meeting, follow these steps:

  1. At the bottom right, click More (3 vertical dots)

  2. Click Change Layout

  3. At the bottom of the window, move the slider to adjust the number of tiles you would like to see, up to 49.

We hope these updates have been helpful. For any clarifications, or if you are interested in having HiView as your new Google Partner, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

More To Explore

Two team members discussing work on a laptop
Admin Resources

Google Workspace DLP Implementation Guide

For Google Workspace Enterprise edition Admins—learn how to set up and monitor your organization’s Data Loss Prevention (DLP) rules.